Insurance Cost and Choices

To all the experienced designers, I have a question about insurances. In our assignment, we’re required to create a business plan. Right now, I’m up to the topic of insurances and wanted to hear from your own experiences. During your careers, did you ever find yourself in situations when you needed a specific one? Are there some you need at the beginning of starting your own business? Or perhaps did you never need to apply for insurance?

Are you speaking as a freelancer type business or an agency?

I’ve been doing this for 32 years and have been insured the entire time, and I’ve never been sued or had a claim filed. I’m perfectly fine with that. I need insurance, it’s the professional thing to do, but I also hope I never have to use it.

In the US, in general, it’s good to have General Liability which includes coverage for premises and operation, contractual liability, personal injury liability, product/completed operation liability, and independent contractor’s liability. If you are going to be using an automobile in the course of your work, it’s good to have Comprehensive Automobile Liability. If you have employees, you may also need Workers Compensation Insurance. It’s also good to have Health Insurance.

If you contract with government agencies, they may require insurance certificates as proof of your coverage. I’ve never had anyone else inquire about my coverage.

What my insurance broker told me is that graphic design is not a business where a lot of us get sued. It’s not like doctors, who get sued constantly. But there is potential liability and insurance can protect your assets. Any client can attempt to sue you for all sorts of reasons, and some people are very litigious. You don’t want to lose your savings, your business, go into debt, or have to sell your house to pay for a judgement against you because you didn’t have protection.

A couple possible scenarios where it would be good for a designer to have coverage: