Is there a codecademy but for graphic design?

About me: I’m a web dev, who started on their code journey through codecademy. I really liked how many exercises + learning tracks there were on codecademy, and it gave me a really good starting point for learning to code.

I just finished the graphic design track by CalArts on coursera, which was a start in my design journey, but currently I am struggling to find a website or place to practice design with feedback. I feel like these sites are all over the internet for code, (educative, hackerrank, leetcode, etc.) but for design, there really aren’t that many. Any help would be appreciated!!!

Don’t think there is currently an design equivalent those free coding sites, however if you’re looking for practice, you might find this helpful: https://dailylogochallenge.com/

1 Like

oh amazing! yeah something like this was exactly what I was looking for. I wish there was more variety in the challenges, but se la vi.

A few critical differences exist between graphic design and coding that make learning on one’s own less straightforward than learning to write code.

With code, there are correct ways, wrong ways, preferred ways, deprecated ways, and ways that involve choosing between acceptable options. There’s some of that in graphic design, but in far more ways, no cut-and-dried answers exist.

In graphic design, there’s the added slippery, nebulous complexity of aesthetics and whether or not the design is appropriate for the job at hand. There’s no such thing as a code validator for graphic design, nor can it be checked in a web browser to see if everything displays correctly.