ISO Vinyl Printer Help

As my name suggests I am new to the industry. I have an opportunity to print race car vinyl wrap that will be short lived as my primary objective. I want to also be able to print perforated vinyl for automotive window displays and stickers/decals. I am looking for budget minded, ease of use vinyl printer suggestions, pros and cons please… Thank in advance for your assistance. :heart:

for race car vinyl you need a solvent or latex printer
Not a water base.

And you want an air release vinyl for ease of application.

Neither of these is 'budget-minded"

You also need a die cut vinyl plotter, unless you plan to just make your stuff rectangles and do all your cutting by hand.

You also need a laminator and a system-matched film overlam for your graphics. Even short lived race car graphics require an overlam, just to make it through a race or two (protect from road grit)

If you don’t mind slow, check out Roland print-cut machines (slow as in: when you’re cutting, you ain’t printing.) That’s about as low end/decent quality as I would go. Summa makes some options and I think Mimaki does too. These also come with rudimentary rips. If you want small, maybe you could make a Gerber Edge work for you, but consumables…yikes.

But I think you are gonna find your ROI in just doing race car decals is not gonna happen. If you have no print experience, the learning curve is…rather large.

3 Likes

Knowledge drop.

Any chance at all you’d be more interested in designing the decals/wraps and outsourcing the print / production to those with the equipment and experience to keep your costs down? If I wanted to learn that kind of thing as an objective that would be where I’d start. You might even consider seeking employment at such an establishment to learn all the in’s and out’s before trying it on your own.

1 Like

Sage advice.

I’ve found this “sticker” niche to be very “gig economy” or “side hussle” type of stuff.