I've completely lost faith in myself

Hi all, apologies in advance for a very morose topic.

I’ve been a professional graphic designer for three years now, and I’ve felt my faith in my abilities decline steadily the entire time. When I was in school, I was pretty confident in my design work. I understood my strengths and weaknesses and I produced work that I was proud of. Now, it seems like I’m ashamed of every project I finish. I’m constantly afraid that my work isn’t good enough and I’m waiting for someone to point out how terrible it is. I’ve become paralyzed by self doubt and it’s making it incredibly difficult to start and finish projects. I was just assigned a project to work with an outside client and I’m terrified that they’re going to hate everything I present.

It seems like every single design I present to my boss is picked apart and sneered at, often with little justification or helpful feedback. The final designs still get approved so the work must be good enough, but I can’t help but feel that I’m just barely scraping by. I took the place of a more senior designer when I joined this company, and it seems that everything she designed was fawned over and adored while everything I design just gets crickets.

I really love what I do and couldn’t imagine doing anything else, but lately I’ve started to wonder if it’s time to jump ship and find a new career. I don’t want to keep hitting my head wondering if I’m any good at what I do. I know all about imposter syndrome, but I’ve struggled with these feelings for over a year and I’m at my wit’s end. How do I reclaim my confidence and keep going? How do I stop these doubts and focus on putting out my best work? I’m sure there must be someone here who has been down this road before.

5 Likes

I’m not a therapist … but it sounds like one wouldn’t hurt. I don’t know any other way to say it that doesn’t end up sounding flat and harsh.