"Just put two hours into it"

I am a freelance graphic designer and work with a fair amount of non-profit organizations.

I received this from a large non-profit that needs a campaign logo:
“We don’t have huge budget to create this campaign; however, we were wondering if you would be able to spend 2 hours creating a logo for it? Whatever you can get done in 2 hours would be awesome and we can take it from there.”

My initial reaction is: No… a) Not a lot can be accomplished in two hours, and b) I would rather see it through and make sure it’s done well.

Am I just being snotty? What would you do/say?

First of all, I agree with you that two hours is not enough time to do this job justice. However, it is enough time to come up with some sort of a word mark that could be used as a campaign identifier.

Some questions for consideration.

Is this a potential new client or an existing client?

If it’s an existing client, what will it do to the relationship if you don’t do the work?

If it’s a potential new client, how badly do you want a foot in the door? – If it’s a potential new client, this is a red flag in my book, so proceed with caution. It can be pretty dangerous to do a deep discount on the first job because they could expect it on all jobs. Also, what does this tell you about the value a potential new client places on design?

Do they want a two hour logo or do they want a 20 hour logo and they are only willing to pay for two hours?

How long will the logo be used? / What is the value of the logo to the client? – For example, is this campaign for a food drive that will only be used for two weeks or is it for a multi-million-dollar building campaign that will last several years?

Thanks for your thoughtful response, Steve. All are great questions!

• Existing client
  • If I don’t do this particular project, I still think there’s a good chance they would hire me in the future for others