Keeping track of versions of PSDs, PDFs/JPGS

Hi! I’m not a pro designer, I’m just an amateur. When I do flyers for someone - say real estate brochures, I do them in PSD. Then I keep one PSD file and save the iterations in JPGS or PDFs. I have a really hard time keeping track of them! Does anyone have any tips on how to do this? The only thing I found that kind of works for me - and it takes discipline - is to put the exact time and date in the file name of each JPG/PDF. That way I know which has the latest changes.

Also, my PSD is a template. I don’t keep a different template for every brochure, I just make different layers for each property’s graphics on the template. It sucks! Perhaps I will try keeping separate PSDs for every brochure. Anyone have any tips?

Thank you!

Photoshop is not the best tool for this.

It would take me an age to explain the best way in Photoshop.

In terms of keeping track… Version numbers

Filename_v1

Never name a file _final

It’s just general file management.

Have you considered using InDesign or illustrator?

1 Like

This isn’t what you were asking about, but Photoshop is not a layout program — its primary use is in working with photos.

I’m not feeling up to writing all the reasons why that’s the case, but there are literally dozens of reasons not to use Photoshop that way.

I agree with Smurf2, use InDesign or Illustrator or, for that matter, almost anything other than a photo editing program.

As for filing things away, I have separate job folders for each of my clients. There are subfolders in each for the various jobs. In those are subfolders that break the jobs down further, such as original art, photos, emails, odds and ends, various versions, final version, and sent to client. I give everything consistent names that enable me to use my Mac’s search feature to find things. I also back everything up to a separate network drive.

1 Like