Learning Resources for the Inexperienced

Hello, all. I am currently doing graphic design/marketing for a small, family-run manufacturer in the Midwest. I studied ecology in college and I have been doing habitat restoration until recently, when I decided to help my family for a little bit.

The company makes ceramic building materials, and most of my work is designing for print. I am, however, also charged with updating their website. Currently, the company has very little invested in marketing and most of what they have (besides their new logo) is between 10-20 years old. Generally, our customers are architects and building suppliers. We do not usually work directly with consumers.

I am doing my best, and I would like to research as much as I can so that I am more prepared for the tasks at hand. I was wondering if you guys could point me in the direction of some good resources on building a brand identity, web design & development, or literally anything else you guys think could be useful. I have no business, design, or marketing training. Any suggestions on where to find good information (web tutorials, books, etc.) would be much appreciated!

The question I kinda have to ask is, wouldn’t it be better for you to be working at what you do best and perhaps put money toward hiring a professional to update your folk’s business website? I get it if something (like the weather) has side-lined you, but still…

I don’t have any resources for you off the top of my head, but I do have several vendors that are in the same boat as your parents. Basically you are looking at two different marketing campaigns, not one.