Logo-designs come out blurry on the web

Hey!
Im a an freelance illustrator and artist, but occasionally get commissions to make logos. Something I love (the creative side of it that is). I make my logos as vector files in illustrator and they always look nice and crisp when I showcase them in Preview before I send them off to the client…

HOWEVER ever so often when I see the clients using the logos in different contexts on the web they are blurry. Something that makes me very frustrated as I can not be proud of my work.

When I create the logos, I haven’t used pixel-aligning as I never knew of this before: How can I align logos that are already created? Could this be the issue?

My other guess is that I often export the png- file for screen use in 300 dpi, something I also recently noticed is recommended to be only 72dpi… However, after trying to export it as 72 dpi it looks fine in my Preview, but how can I be sure that it will look fine for my clients??

Please help :slight_smile:

Logos and other small graphics on websites typically work better as SVG files since it’s a vector format that will display at the best possible resolution for the monitor.

As for what clients do with your logos, just look away. You can’t control their inept decisions. All you can do is give advice and let them have at it.

2 Likes

Your clients should receive high-resolution and high-DPI (8000 px, 300 DPI), transparent-background .SVG, .PDF, .EPS and .PNG files.

72 DPI is too low a value for print and modern high-DPI screens, so you should avoid it and stick to 300 DPI:

So many red flags. Another discussion.

It’s not true.

I agree with the gist of what you’re saying in that any bitmapped logo files supplied to clients should have a high number of pixels—for example, 8000x8000 pixels (depending on the logo’s shape, of course).