Looking for advice on a promotion at work

I’m hoping someone with experience at a senior or art direction level can help me. Back in January, I was talking to my boss about having more projects to do and that got him thinking. About a month later, he approached me about a promotion for a Senior Designer role (I have 21 years of experience, but was hired as a mid-level Graphic Designer about two years ago). I think the transition will be tough. He’s already having me do small tasks like reviewing the junior’s work, which she doesn’t like at all, and a non-designer’s work as well. I’m getting the “stink eye” because of this and being labeled as a “know it all.” Nobody knows about this promotion but me and my boss (creative director). Maybe it’s because my promotion isn’t official yet and even though I DO know more about this stuff then anyone else there, I’m still getting isolated (not from everyone, just two or three people). It would be interesting to hear some your stories and how you handled this transition among your peers. Was there friction? If so, how did you handle it? This is really bothering me because I like everyone there. Thank you.

1 Like

I think you already know that’s the problem. Until your supervisor makes it official and tells everyone else it’s official, everyone will resent your interference and view you as a know-it-all busybody.

The longer it goes on, the more entrenched their views will become and the more difficult it will be when the promotion is made official. In other words, they’ll view it as the busybody jerk getting a promotion. Um, that’s not a good position to be in and your boss should know better.

If I were you, I’d explain this dilemma to your supervisor and that you can’t pretend to be somebody’s senior designer if they don’t know it.

2 Likes

Thanks! I guess I knew the answer in the back of my mind. I’m going to talk to my boss about it. I want the promotion, but I don’t come across as a jerk about it.

1 Like