Looking for tips and advice from experienced graphic designers

Hello there. I’m a sophomore in university and currently studying graphic design. As I’m getting more into the field, I realized how competitive it is and that one should always change and be aware of things that are trendy. I always wonder how do you make yourself stand out from a crowd and how to be different. It’s almost my third year in university and I still struggle to know who I am and what I’m capable of, I pretty much feel lost all the time. I’m looking for any tips or advice on how to improve myself or anything you would want an inexperienced person like me to know about the field before getting further into it. Thank you so much in advance.

Quality work. Quality work always stands out.

It is very competitive. There are more people who want to be designers than there are jobs for them. With a degree, a good portfolio and some practical experience (see below), you’ll be in a good place.

I disagree with your concern over trendiness. For some unknown and misguided reason, design programs stress keeping up with trends way too much. Employers and clients rarely care about the latest trends. Instead, they care a whole lot more about getting projects finished on time and under budget. I’ve never yet had a client say something isn’t trendy enough or, for that matter, even mention it. Most clients are ten or twenty years behind in their tastes anyway. There are clients whose businesses depend trendiness, but honestly, they’re few and far between. As long as your work doesn’t look noticeably dated, you’re good.

Of course you’re still struggling to know those things — you’re still in school. If you had it all figured out, there would be no need for school. :wink:

As for tips, as important as your university design program is, school isn’t like the real world. You’re doing work for instructors who are, for the most part, grading on good design and recognize it when they see it.