Magazine Article Spread Suggestions

• Concept: This is a magazine article about the value of public art in cities
  • Goal: The intent of this project is to take a magazine article in the creative commons and create a layout in an eye-catching way
  • Format: This will be viewed both in print and digitally
  • Audience: People in their 20’s who are interested in politics (also my professor haha)
  • Experience level: I’m a college student with no experience with graphic design.
  • Nature of job: This is a school assignment. I have submitted the assignment as you see it as a rough draft, and after I get critiqued on this forum for a couple of days I am supposed to resubmit it for the final project.

I would really appreciate some beginner-friendly suggestions for how to make the design of the layout stronger and more unified within the four-page limit. Thank you in advance!

Either place a space between the paragraphs or use indents. Don’t do both.

The layout is awfully text-heavy. Add some photos of public art (with cutlines) and use pull-out quotes to break up the space and provide additional entry points for readers. Possibly use photos of people interacting with public art — people in your target audience demographic. Photos of engaged people always help draw in readers.

Don’t be afraid to use a big illustration and headline that dominates the page. The article is, after all, about art.

Consider using a large drop cap to start the story — not the anemic little two-liner you’ve used. Again, don’t be afraid to do bold things and take control of the page.

There’s too much leading between the lines of type in the headline. I’m not sure about that typeface and the colors, but that might be more of a personal preference thing, so I won’t dwell on it.

Why did you make the chunk of text beneath the headline flush right? Everything else on the page is flush left. Flush right, ragged left is almost always a little weird and not done very often.