Masks, Alpha Channels, Transparency, WTF!

So, I’m not a designer, and my photoshop knowledge on a scale of 1 to 10 is about a 3, and I’m looking for some help in completing what I’m guessing is a pretty simple task (for you guys and gals). I added a plugin to my site called Lumise that adds a “design” space to my site that allows users to customize there own apparel. I purchased a mockup from pixel sauce that I opened in photoshop, removed the layers that contained both the mockup instructions and the sample design, and exported a png of just the shirt. In the plugin, to allow the user to change the shirt’s color, the documentation calls for the shirt to have a mask? So when I import the shirt that I exported from photoshop into the plugin, I’m unable to change the shirt’s color, I guess because I am missing the mask? I need some help!!! Below is a snip from the Lumise documentation.

I appreciate any help you can provide.

If those are supposed to be instructions, the writing is pretty weak. They appear to be describing a “mask image,” which contains only the object’s shadows and highlights so that solid color can be rendered (on a layer) behind.

While I have some experience using such an online design interface, I’ve never been involved in populating one from the backside. There may be a better example image to be found that would give you a better look at the layer mechanics in play, and a target to aim for. Someone here probably knows how that works better than I. Be patient and keep digging.

I agree with HotButton, not the best instructions.

In Photoshop, transparency is represented by the white and gray checker pattern. So I believe what they’re showing you is that you need the details – stitching, folds, shadows – on a layer with a transparent background. That will get placed on top of a solid color to create the t-shirt mockup.