Micro-managing boss or just a regular Creative Director?

Despite now working from home, I feel completely suffocated in my current role! I am a Senior designer and have been working in Graphic and Web design for 18 years. My current boss is a designer as well and I am the only other designer he employs. There are other employees, but in different aspects of the business. I am almost five years in this role.

I am rarely allowed to meet directly with clients and if I do, my boss must be present. He will often contradict me if I speak in these meetings, so I have learned to shut-up and only speak when asked something. This probably just leads to the clients not heeding what I have to say anyways. All new design proofs must be reviewed by him before going to the client. He will often ask me just to make the PDF and he will correspond directly with the client himself. It’s like he has no trust in me…

I’m a good designer and I have not made any major mess-ups in time working in this company. However, my confidence is completely shot. When starting any project, it is dictated completely by what I think he wants, rather than using my own creativity or taking into account what the client needs. He gives long rambling briefs and when I carry out any very specific brief he gives to me, he will often just scrap it, in the same way a client does. Is this just standard behaviour for Creative Directors? or is my boss indeed a micro-manager?

I am grateful to have my job as so many people have lost theirs in the current pandemic, but I am so sick of this man. I have so little creative freedom and my frustration levels are through the roof.

Well, is he a good designer?

Sounds like a micro-manager and he’s probably taking credit for your work.