My design is dead! I can't take it anymore! Help!

Hi, everyone!
I’ve been at this for 8 years, self-taught. I’ve read all the “standard issue” material, from J.M. Brockman, M. Vignelli’s Cannon, The Type Primer, Itten’s color theory and everything else that a college curriculum suggests. I had a deal with Fine Arts Academy students, they supply me with all the material and I in turn help them learn the software, which in this particular academy is really badly covered.

From leading an maintaining a web store, doing tons of web graphics and promo material, to freelancing and launching 3 products on the shelves, I’ve always had a feeling that I’m missing something! Looking at famous designers such as Bierut, Sagmeister, Sher I noticed that “IT” factor that they all have…and when I look at my portfolio, it feels dry, uninspiring and even amateur. Maybe it’s because I’ve been looking at it for too damn long, or I’m too much of a perfectionist, Idk!

The strange thing is that wherever I go, I can re-design my surroundings on the fly in my head and do it right, but when I design my own stuff, I end up disappointed because I know I could do so much better, but there’s something in the way. I wake up at night because I came up with a brand name, a logo and an entire concept in my sleep. I love diving into new projects head first, and I believe my ideas are good if done well, yet there is a gap! A gap between what I know in my head, all the theory and what comes out on the other end. This missing link keeps eluding me for years now, it’s tearing me apart inside, I ended up on several antidepressants.