My new job title. SD, AD or CD?

I’m hoping someone can help me out here. I don’t want to just get stuck on job titles here so a little background info.

I’m a graphic designer with around 20 years of experience. I’ve always either been a senior designer or a mid-level designer in in-house positions at various companies over the years. I guess the reason why I never advanced to an art director is because I’ve never had the opportunity or I never had the desire to at that company. I’ve been with my current company for a little over a year and I really like it here. I can see myself staying long-term. There’s another GD here who has only six years of experience.

For the last few months, I’ve been giving my boss suggestions on how to make the department better as far as procedures and branding and telling him I would like more responsibilities. He trusts me. He approached me during our one on one this morning about making my position into something else. Whether that’s a senior designer, art director or creative director, I don’t know. He wants me to write up a report with new responsibilities and job title. HIS title is technically “Creative Director” so I don’t think that’s the answer. He knows nothing about graphic design, but he knows when he sees good design (his background is in writing). I know a big thing he wants me to do is to “police” the brand more and approve designs that the other designer does. The company needs this badly and like I said, he’s not a designer and doesn’t have the time.

Has anyone here ever had to write a report for this? How does an art director differ from a creative director? I have the experience, just don’t know how I should word it.

Any help on this subject would be greatly appreciated.