Need career advice needed!

Hello,

I need some career advice. I am currently working at a marketing agency and run their web department. I currently have 20 full websites I project manager for, and also oversee all the hosting and maintenance for about 10 websites, along with regular web updates on all past website we have created. I do all the client relations on all these jobs and make sure we are on budget. I also frequently need to assist in design and development to move jobs along.

Is this normal for our industry to have that much responsibility? I feel completely overwhelmed all the time, and timelines to clients are not being met because I just can’t seem to keep up. I also work on average 60 hour weeks, but sometimes more. What is the average number of jobs once can typically handle for websites? We have mostly medium sized custom WordPress sites, a few large ones, and a couple small ones.

I have been doing this job for almost 2 years and I am not sure I can keep up this pace. I am pretty close to burn out.

Looking for any insight or advice here at all.

Thanks!

Have you asked your job for help? What did they say?

They don’t seem to understand why I can’t get it done. The owners don’t really have much knowledge on how web departments run or how much work is involved. I have been asking for help for 2 years now and have an assistant who helps me part-time on project management, but that is all I am getting. Due to Covid-19 my wage was cut drastically too and my assistant isn’t near her level of pay she should be.

The danger is that by just tell them you are over-worked (that’s not to say they shouldn’t take heed), if they are not responsive, then it could just come across as moaning,