Need suggestions on what apps to use

I am a quasi-graphic designer. 2-year degree in comm design but never officially worked as a designer. Used skills in my business for 13 years. This to show you I have some skills.
My project is to design a cover for my new book. Please save me months of researching multiple software programs. You are the professionals, You know this stuff. Which software program should I choose to manipulate pics of old cars and make a collage? I want to first try outlines of each car. I designed the cover of my first book in Canva, but it was all type. Looking for cheapest software solution. Don’t want to have to pay for and take the time to learn Photoshop.
Your suggestions please, thanks.

I’d say your options are fourfold.

1. Bite the bullet and get Photoshop. It’s the best tool for the job.

2. Buy Affinity Photo, but, if you don’t want to pay for Photoshop, you probably don’t want to pay for Affinity Photo, either.

3. Use some crappy, free software. I don’t know what it would be, but I’m sure it’s out there.

4. Hire a pro and save yourself a lot of time and frustration.

1 Like

These last two sentences largely rule out accomplishing what you have in mind. I routinely use a combination of InDesign, Illustrator, and Photoshop for projects similar to book covers. I’ve sometimes used the Affinity suite of equivalent applications, which are good products and considerably cheaper but still not free.

There are free software apps, but they’re no easier to use than expensive ones, and they generally have shortcomings of various sorts.

Yes, but professionals typically don’t have suggestions on do-it-yourself software since we don’t use it.

I’d recommend what Steve suggested about hiring a professional. However, if you really want free, try GIMP. It’s no easier to use than Photoshop, though.

1 Like

Just be sure you have the license releases on those photos of old cars…

2 Likes

That software is called Gimp.