Need to create new digital files from paper documents

Hi there, I am new to these fora.

I am newly back to the academic milieu, in a doctoral program in education. I have some old papers of mine that I would like to use as the basis for some publishable articles. Unfortunately, the digital copies (the drives containing the files) of said papers have been lost, leaving just the paper copies. Hoping to avoid having to retype everything, I have decided to explore whether I can create new digital files from the papers through the use of OCR technology. In this way, I hope to be able to rework the originals, changing grammar and adding additional material.

I have discerned several ways that this may (or may not, of course) be achieved. I think that I can achieve this by either: (1) scanning with an OCR capable scanner and then exporting the resulting text file to MSWord as a .docx, then editing and reworking in Word, (2) scanning with a non-OCR capable scanner and opening the resulting image .pdf in Adobe Acrobat pro, and using the Acrobat OCR capability to render the image .pdf searchable and then editing in Acrobat itself, or (3) scanning with a non-OCR capable scanner and opening the resulting image .pdf in Adobe Acrobat pro, and using the Acrobat OCR capability to render the image .pdf searchable and then exporting the resulting searchable .pdf (which I think is essentially a text document, although I might be wrong about that) to a .docx in MSWord, and doing the editing in Word.