New Designer

Hey guys,

I’m new to graphic design… currently attending college to study. Other than doing my school projects, what is a good way to practice and to become more conformable with illustrator/photoshop? Do you think copying design tutorial videos on Youtube will help?

PS feel free to link useful resources that you think may help me :slight_smile:

Thanks!

in youtube very photoshop tutorial available but i can suggest you udemy course

Get a part time job.
That way you will have at least part of the 2-years experience needed to get an entry level job.
And add InDesign to your studies. No InDesign. No job.

(This looks suspiciously like a self reply to advertise a website. Just sayin’…)

1 Like

PrintDriver is right. InDesign is the linchpin from pretty design to producing your art. Not to mention Adobe’s ONLY key to layout and print media design. Of my 13 years in the field, InDesign is my most used piece of software by a landslide.

2 Likes

I have taken an inDesign class… though I wasn’t a huge fan on it. I should probably keep practicing it. I just like using illustrator more.

I wish I could get a part time job but I already have a fulltime job plus school. I don’t think ill be able to get a part time and afford college/bills :frowning:

I’m not a huge InDesign fan either, but it’s an essential component in the CC group. It’s perfect for multi-page projects and for gluing various things together, but whenever I can get away with it, I’ll use Illustrator instead. Between Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign, I use InDesign the least. The mix probably depends on the kinds of jobs a designer works on, though.

As for practicing, everyone learns differently. I learn best by just jumping in and figuring things out. Others learn best in structured classes, working through tutorials or watching videos.