New Graduate: Freelance or Design Company

Hello!

My name is Laura and I am a recent graduate. I am having a difficult time deciding what direction to go in after school. I have dabbled a little with freelancing, and eventually would like to take my work in that direction. However, I feel like maybe I need to get a job with a company in order to learn more from others before being able to go out on my own in a professional sense. Anyone with experience in this have any advice?

Thank you in advance!
-Laura

1 Like

Recent graduates have only really learned the basics of design. Learning about the business of how design works in the real world is the next step and very different from what you likely learned in school.

There are people who dive directly into the deep end of the pool, flounder around a bit, then figure it out. Then again, that’s also a good way to drown. Only you can decide, but I’d suggest continuing your education in a company/agency with more experienced people who can teach you how to take your design education and put it to work before venturing out on your own.

Thank you for your response. That was kind of the direction I was feeling a needed to go! Moving in that direction… do you think it is possible to get this experience with a remote position? or much more effective to be in office with these more experienced designers? I am hoping to move to a larger city because I’m thinking it will help me improve and learn more about the field!

Welcome Aboard Laura :slight_smile:

Thank you!
So much good information to catch up on!

1 Like

Everyone learns differently, so I can only give you my experience.