New layout for Magazine

Hello all. Hope you are having a great start to 2024.

I have been working for a moto cross magazine for about 3-4 years now. This year we want make the magazine layout cleaner and more modern. We are changing format and paper.

I would like to use a sans serif font (body), for a more modern feel. It is a quite text heavy magazine so might be just a big NO? Or do you have any suggestions of legible sans serifs? Or perhaps a modern serif font.

I’m looking for good grids to use and just overall good alpha around magazine design, I want to deepen my knowledge. But have been looking for more advanced guides courses and haven’t really found anything. So everything is of interest.

All the best, Micke

You might start with reading a lot of magazines, including those of different subjects. Take note of what inspires you and what does not, and why.

As a rule, if one knows what one wants to do will make one get there faster.

The two situations seem to contradict each other. 3-4 years working on the same project should provide you with enough insight.

Yeah I do believe that I have a fair understanding of what I want to achieve. Im trying to scan the internet of as much inspiration as I can. 4500+ pints on pinterest and that is only one of many places I look for inspiration.

The question about the sans serif font was more of a question about legibility. I know serif fonts are to prefer in print if there is lengthy text. But seen more and more people going with sans serifs.

If I were you, I’d lean more toward a neutral serif face for body text (Minion, maybe), then use a contrasting sans serif that consisted of a wide range of aggressive weights for headlines, subheads, cutlines, drop caps, credit lines, and all the other typography that wasn’t body copy.

Any chance of sharing a few spreads from the existing magazine here?

1 Like