Newbie here help regarding email design

Hi everyone I hope you are keeping safe during these times.

I own a small business and have recently decided to try a campaign marketing email. I would like to use campaign monitor as it is for free however the best results are to upload a pre-designed theme. However I need to edit the theme and I am absolutely useless at HTML.

I was wondering if there is any software where you can edit the theme in a front end way? I use a Mac and any help will be greatly appreciated.

Mike

Creating a good html newsletter theme is very hard because it has to be:

• Responsive, meaning it works well on various screen sizes (so far it’s like a web page)
  • Work on a number of email readers, which is very hard because many don’t support standard CSS
  • All CSS (styling) has to be embedded into the html inline, which is a major pain

So, if you’re not good with HTML/CSS, forget doing your own theme.

You should find an existing theme that the software offers and modify to your needs. Change as little as possible.

Make sure test the end result on as many email readers as possible, especially various version of Outlook as they tend to be the worst in terms of CSS support.

1 Like

Okay many thanks for the help. I have a theme I just need some software to change it

The problem with editing your theme in a WYSIWYG editor is that it will likely not embed styles inline, or care about email reader incompatibilities. I don’t think an email specific editor exists. It would be great if it did.

Have you looked into MailChimp in addition to Campaign Monitor. MailChimp’s WYSIWYG (what you called a “front end way”) HTML email editor is about as good as you’re going to find. There’s also a WYSIWYG Macintosh HTML email editor called Coffeecup, but using it is less than intuitive, and it costs money.