Overqualified? (Seeking Advice)

Hi everyone!

First, I would like to add a little context to clarify my situation. Currently, I’m an undergraduate foreign student at a national university in Japan (my major is in robotics and engineering). Currently in my last year at the university, since the start of my academic year, I’ve been setting out on a journey to hunt for a suitable job. For personal reasons, I’ve chosen graphic design as an occupation I hope to pursue.

Having chosen a prospect job that I want to pursue, I rushed to prepare my portfolio and a suitable resume to accompany me on my job hunting journey. For the last few months, I’ve also spent my time building a portfolio website, which finally comes online last August (I’ve always relied on a portfolio site created through Behance before this new website is available).

You can find my portfolio at My Portfolio Site

However, to my surprise, I was repeatedly turned down by companies and agencies without knowing why (in Japan, employers do not (not just rarely) provide a clear reason for turning down an applicant). Of over 30 agencies I’ve been applying to, only one agency has kindly replied to me: “Even though your portfolio and resume is extraordinary, at the moment, due to the ongoing pandemic, our agency is looking for a seasoned designer to help us to immediately tackle our projects. As such, to our deepest regret, our agency does not hire fresh graduates at present.” (I took a cold contact but they kindly answered my application and provided some feedback on my portfolio, so I was really glad despite being turned down). For other agencies, they either ghost my application or just turn it down without giving me an invite to an interview.

Feeling frustrated, I brought my portfolio to a meeting with a group of experienced designers held in Tokyo, Japan to seek advice as I believe it was my lacking which led to my current situation. The responses I received can be summarized as below: