PDF viewed normal, but printed negative image...why?

I’m a print broker not to graphic design savvy, but savvy enough. Client provided a packaged InDesign file in which we sent back a print ready pdf for them to review/approve. They complained saying an image on the back cover appeared to be the “negative image” of the pic, but it looked ok to me. They said the viewed the pdf via Word, so I assumed that was the issue. So I submitted the file to the print vendor & they provided a pdf proof and all looked ok to me. Just got the publication and the image was printed as a “negative” image. How is this possible? Why would it look good to me, at least on my computer. I’m afraid the vendor will say to them it looks like a negative image on their side. Worried that I can’t trust a pdf now. Help! I need to get a grasp of this issue and figure out why it happened.

Thanks for your help!!!

Hmm. I’ve not heard of this happening before. Unfortunately, without getting my hands on the actual files, it would be tough to diagnose. (Maybe someone else has experienced this and can diagnose without looking at the files.) Off the top of my head, I’d compare the color mode, bit depth, and color profile of the negative image vs. the settings on an image that printed properly. Please keep us updated as the cause of the problem and the fix.

I have negative images show up in various pdf readers other than Acrobat. Viewing a pdf directly in a mail program (especially Outlook) is most common source of negative images.
Can’t say I’ve had them ever show up as correct in a PDF but print negative. That’s a new one.
What are YOU using for a pdf reader?
If the file came from a client and they are viewing the PDFs in Word, I’d consider the source of the file PDF suspect. Some of the non-adobe softwares out there have very strange PDF engines in them that aren’t always compatible with postscript. Did YOU try printing out the pdf in question?