Photoshop layer groups

It isn’t often I can’t figure something out in Adobeware, maybe I’m just not looking in the right place or it just doesn’t work this way.
In Photoshop, is it possible to apply a Multiply Mode to one layer, group it with one or two other Multiply mode layers, and set that group to Normal Mode so the group keeps its multiply features but Overlays solid (doesn’t interact with) the layers below it?
I think that made sense. I don’t think it’s possible but I’m not a photoshop pro.

Alternatively, would some kind of masking layer work to isolate the multiply modes above a normal mode layer?

Screen Shot 2020-07-27 at 1.40.19 PM

If I’m understanding correctly, you can change the transparency mode from “pass through” to normal. Possibly, within your group.

Lemme try that, but I don’t think that’s it. Let me also see if I can come up with an example. Might take a night or two. Sketching fingers aren’t working tonight…or the tablet is being ornery. (I’m sure it’s the fingers.)

yup. maybe if you can share a visual way of what you’re trying to do, it may make more sense.

PD I wouldn’t do it with groups.

Have some layers with the Multiply blend mode.

To keep the orginall files live, select them and use Ctrl+Shift+Alt+E.

This creates a merged layer but leaves the original layers.

The blend mode is by default Normal

Hope this helps

1 Like

Trying to keep the multiplied layers editable.
Let me see if I can get a sketch done tonight.
Was too whipped yesterday to do it.

the orinal laers are still editable with this method

Will give it a shot. I don’t have the file I was working on here at the moment. It’s a “commission” of sorts that I’m working on at home.

I did try this and it didn’t work. Though it did produce a really cool effect over the entire art.

Still working on an example, couldn’t use the art I’m working on without linking myself on a different forum and I don’t want to do that…LOL.