Pissed off at Font Explorer -- ZERO service!

I’ve been a FontExplorer Pro customer for probably over a decade now. Pay for the upgrades every time. Have tediously cataloged my thousands and thousands of fonts over the years.

My hard drive crashed and despite a lot of googling, I can’t seem to fix an issue with the file directory on the new computer. Which isn’t the point.

The point is that over the past three weeks, I have contacted the company through their customer service form (no phone number to call) THREE FREAKING TIMES for help, and have gotten ZERO, and I mean NADA, reply back. To say I’m furious is an understatement. They’ve never had a friendly customer relationship, but in the past they have at least replied to a support ticket. Apparently no longer.

I’m SO tempted to say “eff you” and switch over to Suitcase or Typekit, but I’ve spent too long micromanaging my collection. Now I need to see if I can figure out how to do an export of my catalog settings so I can PAY someone to come out, fire up my old hard drive, install and activate the program on a second computer, export the file, and then re-direct the program on my new computer to re-import the fonts from a new directory.

SO F*CKING FURIOUS at the company. Would never recommend them.

1 Like

Gotta say I’m at a loss at what you are trying to do to recover the fonts. You say the file directory on the crashed drive isn’t an issue, but it could be The Issue FontEx doesn’t want to deal with.

It sounds like you may have something beyond the purview of their if-A-then-B support services. They should at least contact you back and say as much though.

Call them out on social media - that’s what I do - usually gets fixed straightaway.

1 Like