Please critique my first stab at InDesign! I appreciate it

This is an assignment for a magazine spread. Any thoughts are appreciated since I am a beginner

!

1 Like

It isn’t often (as in almost never) that you see a full spread image where you have to turn the page to begin the article. It almost looks like an ad spread.
If this were the outside-inside of a folded single sheet, it would work a little better, but not for a mag spread.

I’d also adjust the rotation/crop of the image so that the buildings were vertical. Right now they lean to the right.

3 Likes

I agree with PrintDriver, you need to start the story on the initial spread. There’s plenty of room to do it there. If it were me, I’d consider starting the story out there in larger type than the body copy that’s on subsequent pages.

As for the body copy, it needs paragraph indents.

The subheads are just a bit anemic.

The cutline beneath the photo needs breathing room.

Also consider the design possibilities of rules, page numbers and other standing design items that contribute to the design consistency of the entire publication. Page numbers, for example, provide opportunities to do something interesting — they don’t just have to be purely functional items tucked into the corners.

Look at other magazines to see what they do to break up and make large blocks of gray text more approachable. There are tons of possibilities for adding interest that you’re not considering.

4 Likes

^All good observations and advice. But I’ll expand a bit: