Pool of Mystery Ideas

Good morning, noon, or night wherever you might be.

My name is Marty and I am struggling with some graphic design quandaries. I am trying to build my own mystery game company, and I am in the beginning phases and I keep running into the same problem – I need the help of a graphic artist!

With that being said, it is true, I am not one. But I was hoping that I might be able to join this forum and find some help, ideas, and inspiration along the way. Also, I am not sure if I am in violation of the rules because I am not a Graphic Artist, but I would gladly contribute to the community in any possible way I can.

Thank you!

Some questions I need help with:

How might a person hide a message within a painting?

Is it possible to create two images alike, say a sketch of a room, and when you pass something over the room, like film or something, the sketch of the room changes giving new details or different objects?

Thank you very much for your time.

It is against the rules to ask for free work.

On the hidden messages though, if this is in the physical world, look up UV invisible paint. You need a black light to see it, but in normal light it is clear.

On the other thing, if it is like a map, there used to be some kind of film that would show hidden details. For some reason my brain remembers it as red that cancelled out all the red in the image, but it’s been sooooooo long, I don’t remember. Someone as old as me might pipe up.

Yeah, I feel like I remember some sort of board game from my childhood that came with a red piece of cellophane — kind of like rubylith, in hindsight — that you would place over an image to reveal a hidden image. Maybe it was like a colorblind test sort of thing. What it was called or how to find it … yikes, not sure I’d be any help past remembering that it was out there.

1 Like

Thank you PrintDriver!