PPT sizes

I’ve been a designer for years, but everytime someone asks me to design a PowerPoint slide/deck, I always struggle with what size and resolution to create in ID or Illustrator. When I Google this, I get different advice. I’m here to put this to bed once and for all. What size and resolution works for you (widescreen and standard)? Should I create a slide in pixels or inches?

Create it in PPT.
Problem solved.

It really depends - what are they using it for
Projector
TV
Monitor
Internet based
Print out presentation

This is all nailed during the briefing process.

Once you know what they are doing with it - then only can you create the correct dimensions.

2 Likes

It’s a background for a widescreen and standard projector.

So it needs to be ok stretched or cropped. As a background that suggests abstract rather than figurative. If you keep it simple, image resolution becomes less relevant.

This seems like a good guide;

Why are you creating PowerPoint slides in Illustrator and InDesign? Creating SVG graphic in Illustrator can be helpful, but I see little use for InDesign.

Are you doing this because you’re more familiar with them than PowerPoint? You can use InDesign to create nice layouts, but that rules out editing them within PowerPoint. This might be OK in some situations, but I’ve found that when I make PowerPoint decks for others, they always want to tweak the text right up until they make their presentations. Yes, you can design nice static images in InDesign, but PowerPoint presentations don’t typically need to look fancy. Simple, not much text, and a few animations usually work best.

PowerPoint is convoluted, comes with severe limitations, and violates the usual conventions of typical graphics applications. Even so, it works for what it’s intended to make — visuals to accompany a verbal presentation in a meeting.