Practice graphic design

Hey everyone! Im a self taught graphic designer (still learning!)
I know a lot of the design elements, typography and basically anything I need to know before creating a design.
I want to use the skills ive learned but Im not sure how… Are there any assignments you would reccomand? How do you even start to work as a freelancer for the first time if youve never tried it? Any tips would help!

Hi and welcome.

You don’t. You get a job in a design agency and learn the ropes, otherwise you will be charging people money for a sub-standard service. You openly admit you don’t know what you are doing yet – that in itself isn’t a problem, we’ve all been there – so you cannot possibly be able to offer a service to paying customers with problems that need solving.

Moreover, I am very very sceptical of self-taught designers. Who was telling you where you were going wrong? Who critiqued your work? My advice would be to go and get an accredited education (not from an online ‘university’). If you have the passion for this as a career – and you’ll need passion to see you through the tight deadlines and all-nighters you’ll have to do to cut your teeth – then you should give yourself the best chance of success and do it the right way. Once you have an education, you’ll need, I’d suggest, 4-5 years experience, as a minimum, in the workplace before even thinking about a freelance career.

Apologies if this seems harsh, but there are so many under- and un-qualified wannabes out there now, armed with alacrity and ignorance in equal measure, that the market is saturated. You don’t want to even be swimming in the same pool if you can help it. If you have any chance of turning what I assume you love doing into a long-term career, you are going to need to build solid foundations.