Preparing image for large poster

Hi everyone, I am new here and this is my first post. Recently I am working on a poster design job and the final print is going to be 1.78 x 1.78 meter, which is about 6 ft x 6 ft. I am an illustrator/ artist working in traditional medium and I want to do a drawing for the poster. I know the image need to be in 300 dpi but 6 ft x 6 ft is too much for me to do, and scan. I usually work on small-size paper like letter/A4/A3, or 18x24 inches at most.

I checked my scanner and it allowed me to scan an image at 12800 dpi. I really doubt if it’s real. It’s basically 40+ times larger than the originally image! I am already doubting it when it says 1500 dpi
 So my question is: Is 12800 dpi, or 2400, or 1500 a real thing? Do you images really enlarge 5 times with the 1500 dpi option and still looks sharp? And how about when it’s printed? Can anyone advise me the minimum size my work should be in order to get a high-res enough digital image for printing 6 ft by 6 ft? And I don’t want to make it a vector. Thank you in advance!

Large-format printing does not need to be 300ppi. The viewing distance of most posters is measured in meters, not centimeters. Unlike a brochure or magazine, posters aren’t viewed at arms length, so they don’t need to be razor sharp from that distance. Instead, think in terms of keeping the imagery sharp from the typical viewing distance. In other words, you can probably get by with 150ppi or less.

Besides, if your original illustration is much smaller than the enlargement will be, it will be a bit blurry anyway. An ultra-high-resolution scan will only serve to make the texture of the paper or illustration board visible, and I doubt you want that.

As for any text on the poster, that really should be done in a vector format. You can get by with the illustration not being razor sharp, but blurry text always comes across as noticeably bad.

1 Like