Pricing for ~200 page furniture catalog

Hi all,

I am a graphic designer who just recently went freelance. I picked up a client (this furniture company near me) and I was hired to design a 2019 version of their furniture catalog and price list.

The catalog is 16x11.5in and has 95 double-sided pages (190 pages). Each one, excluding the cover and back, has a product photo, name, description, size, alternate colors (and their pics), etc. The pricing guide is a multi-page 8x11.5in flyer with product pictures of every product in the catalog (in order) and their respective prices.

This seems like a substantial project for just one person. It also might pan out to be an annual gig if I make them happy with this year’s.

I’m really not sure what a good price would be. I haven’t found many resources about pricing for these kinds of projects. I was thinking of doing either per hour pay or per page pay, and then I’d need to decide how much.

Any and all input is greatly appreciated, thank you.

Catalogs differ enormously in complexity as does the role of the designers putting them together. In other words, there’s no way anyone can tell you what to charge since no one here knows the details of the situation.

When it comes right down to it, clients buy our time, and in that time, we do what they need done or can’t do themselves. So with that being the case, carefully pin down the job and figure out exactly what this client needs done, then make your best estimate on how long it will take you.

You should have a good idea of how much you expect to make per hour. I mean, you won’t work for what you’d make at a fast-food place, would you? And you don’t expect to make what a heart surgeon would make. You should, however, have a good idea of what you’re worth and the minimum amount you’re willing to work per hour.