Question about business cards

Hi there, I hope I picked the right category for this question,

When doing business cards as a freelancer do you typically take on printing costs (for a small run of cards) and invoice or do you pass the file and printer recommendation to the client? In this case a smallish start up.

Thank you!

Kinda depends on how you are set up for business and where you are located.
If you buy business cards wholesale, and sell them to your client, most states require you collect sales tax. Are you set up for that?

In answer to your question, buying and selling print is a goodly portion of what I do for a living.

1 Like

I tell my clients that I also offer printing on the projects I design, but they aren’t required to use me. I can hand off the final PDFs to them or to a printer of their choosing.

If I’m brokering it, I get wholesale pricing that is about 10-20% off what the printer normally charges, and then I charge my client the printer’s retail price, and keep the difference. Here in California, brokering the print changes how sales tax is calculated for the project, and you are required to file quarterly returns.

1 Like

I live in Argentina and to me depends on the type of client I´m working with.
For locals clients I have 2 prices:
1-Design and pass the file of the project.
2-Design and handle the project printed (project + print retail price).
I get wholesale pricing, my earnings are the difference after charging my client with the printer´s retail price.

1 Like

As a freelancer, I don’t want to be responsible for paying the printer in case the client, for whatever reason, turns out to be a deadbeat. There’s no way I want to be holding the bag on a $5,000 printing job.