Questions about vector heavy designs in illustrator

Hello. I hope its okay i ask these questions. Im new here so apologies if not. I did multiple searches and didnt find my answers. I also tried to contact an admin but couldnt find how to contact them directly (to see if my question was okay) as im new to the interface here.

My issue is this. Im working at a screen print shop and sometimes i get involved with vector heavy designs in illustrator by using watercolor brushes or other types. Ive recently designed something that was around 26mb as an ai file but when i created outlines/merged etc it and needed to send it as an eps for someone else to open it in corel draw it saved as around 55mb. This large file bogs down our computers. Is it the computers power thats in question? Or is there a way of reducing file sizes with originally vector heavy designs? I seem to encounter this issue often when creating original artwork that needs to look like its hand drawn and using a watercolor/wet media effect. Sometimes it takes 4 to 5 min to make one simple move (like selecting all the artwork on the artboard) and its beyond ridiculous. Most the designs i have to create im okay… but 15% of the time the client wants wet media look (and i have to merge the artwork for transfering to someone else using corel so they can resize id needed with no resolution loss ie vector) and it can get crazy on it being vector heavy and slowing down our computers. Thanks for ur help in advance.

It’s fine to ask questions. That’s one of the reasons the forum exists.

I’m not quite sure what you mean, but vector illustrations do not lend themselves to a watercolor look. The pixels-by-pixel complexity of watercolors does not match up with how vector illustrations work — the files would be huge and could grind a RIP to a halt.

EPS is an old, mostly outdated format. The EPS file likely included a bitmapped preview of the illustration, which would have increased the size of the file.