Questions

Hello everyone,
I’m a graphic design student and I was wondering if I could get some questions answered for my assessment.

1. What are some current trends?
  2. Are there any current trends that have influenced your work?
  3. What current trends do you think will last some time?

Thanks
Toby

You’ll probably get the same answer multiple times.
It’s always good to be aware of the trends.
But you must avoid falling into the trap of following trends.
Trends…End.
You don’t want to knowingly box your client into something with an expiration date.
Be a leader not a follower.

Current trends that need to end:

1. Grunge - this has lasted far too long already.

2. Skinny typefaces - at least in logo applications, I’m a sign guy and swear I’m gonna hand design students the smallest LED tape and ask them to try to stuff it inside a logo created out of skinny typefaces.

3. Badge logos - every logo can and probably will eventually degenerate into a circle with a letter in it. Let’s stop before that happens.

4. Gradients and transparency in logos - everyone is interested in “colorful” but not so much production issues. Gradients and transparency overlaps are pretty, but you can’t easily paint them or embroider them or silk screen them. All production outputs must be considered when making “pretty” things.

5. Halftone dots - if you’re gonna do em, do em properly as vectors. No Photoshop half-baked filters. While they have their place, they are currently being overused.

6. Word clouds - overused.

Trends that will last some time?
I can’t think of anything much that has lasted over the 20 years I’ve been in the industry.

• Maybe Retro. It pops in and out over that course of time. Victorian influence pops up a lot too.
  • Grunge hit the scene about 15 years ago and has lasted quite some time, at least long enough for designers to figure out when it is or isn’t appropriate. We don’t have nearly as many requests for the impossible small-shard effects as we used to.