Recreating T-Shirt Artwork

I am a t-shirt graphic artist and I have a client who is wanting to recreate this look, obviously changing the text to say her mascot and match her colors. She is really just wanting this “connected” look.
Is there a certain font or any suggestions on how to recreate this look?php

I suppose you could find a similar sans serif font, but other then that, the connecting lines aren’t particularly “special” I’d do it in Illustrator. Start with your font and design “pre-skewed” to make it easier. If I were doing it:

• Type your text

• Outline the font

• Add Anchor points to the edge of the font to add the connected lines

• Use the Direct Selection tool to “pull out” a connection line from your newly added anchor points

• or … for consistency simply draw a horizontal rectangle that matches the weight of the font. Duplicate it a lot, align it to tops and bottoms of font shapes, stretch as needed.

Once happy, use pathfinder to merge shapes and skew it all.

2 Likes

Oh, that kind of cougar.

2 Likes

I agree with @CraigB, this will be done mostly via hand. There isn’t one font that will create this.

1. You can start with Arial Semi Bold Rounded.
  2. For this kind of thing it’s easier, yet front end heavy, to type each letter out separately so you can use the alignment tools. (learn these and pathfinders completely)
  3. Outline Font
  4. Create rounded rectangle shapes “connect” the letters to the lines
  5. Pathfinder-Add to make it one object

So now you have the design.
The outline looks hand drawn or is made to look hand drawn. There are 100’s of techniques to change the edges to look less precise and more hand-made.

Thanks for the help everyone! I was hoping there would be a quick “type it out” way, but drawing the rectangles and positioning them didn’t take as long as I thought it would. I actually like the way it turned out!

Yeah it’s surprising how fast one can work with simple geometric forms in illustrator.