Responsive SVG | minimum width

Hi there :slight_smile:

I’ve never worked with SVG files before and hope someone here has more experience and could help me unlock my brain.

I’d like to have a svg file on a website scale with its container (I included it there as a background-image) and at a certain breakpoint some parts of the graphic should be hidden. Furthermore there should bi a minimum width, so the graphic won’t get too tiny on mobile screens.

Here’s what I’ve achieved so far:

• I have exportet the graphic from Adobe Illustrator as a responsive svg
  • then I have tried to declutter the file a little bit and separated the part that should be hidden at the breakpoint by adding an additional group-container (<g></g>)
  • after that I added a media-query to the file and set the second group to ‘display: none’

The problem I have now: I really don’t know how I can set a minimum width for the pathgroup that is still visible. So when I decrease the size of the browser-windows the graphic just gets smaller and smaller.

How could I prevent this? And if there are multiple ways: what would be considered best practise?

Thanks in advance.

Sarah

Can you post code?

Did you use min-width or max-width (or whatever) styles at media queries?

https://www.w3schools.com/css/css3_mediaqueries_ex.asp

Hi Sparrow and grfkdzgn :slight_smile:

Thanks for replying. I’m sorry i didn’t answer sooner.
I set up an example. Although here it seems to work by setting a min-width and a max-width.
So it’s possible that the problem is somewhere in my flexbox-layout and not inside the svg at all.

It think I need to experiment a little bit more. But just in case:

Here the link to the example:

And here the SVG-Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <svg version="1.1" id="examplegraphic" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="http://www.w3.org/1999/xlink" x="0px" y="0px"
    	 viewBox="0 0 352 65" xml:space="preserve">
    <defs>
      <style>
        #bigc {