Rights of Publicity

Some designer with a bad idea just cost their client a boatload of money.

1 Like

Email thread

Are you sure you have the rights to this image?

Yes, it’s fine it’s a fictional character

But it’s still intellectual property and copyrighted

Just use it I’m not paying you enough to argue with me.

You’re not paying me at all, I’m an intern, it costs me to work here

Just use it

Ok

1 Like

One hopes that exists… $9M is a lot of money

Would the insurance cover it? How would that work? Be interesting to see if it stays at that figure or be reduced

I don’t think some freelance designers fully realize they’re running commercial businesses that come with all the risks and legal responsibilities of real businesses.

Designers can grab photos, music, fonts, and whatever else off the internet. They can copy other people’s designs. They can fail to separate their businesses from their personal lives. They can play fast and loose with all kinds of things for years and get away with it.

Sooner or later, though, a client will lose money as a result of their bad judgment. The IRS will send a letter demanding explanations. A court summons will appear out of nowhere. Lawyers get involved, settlements or court judgments are made, and the consequences are drained bank accounts, seized assets, and a life-changing disaster.

Sacha Baron Cohen sues the dispensary for several million. A settlement for something less is negotiated. Then the dispensary sues the agency or the freelancer who used Cohen’s image without permission. I don’t know too many freelancers who could afford that bill.

Being sued is part of being in business these days.
We have a saying, “Shit rolls downhill.”
With the idea being not to be the fence at the bottom that catches it.

1 Like