Seeking Advice

Hi guys I was just looking for a little advice. I graduated from the school of visual arts in Nyc with a degree in graphic design in 1997! I know, I’m old, LOL. Upon graduation I worked as a graphic designer for approximately four years when I decided to move on to other forms of art. Now, many years later, I am looking to get back into graphic design. I was wondering if you had any advice for someone in my position? What would I do to start up again? Build a portfolio? Recommendations for learning the updated programs? What are employers looking for nowadays? Starting over as a junior designer, what do the salaries look like these days? Hours? Sorry I have so many questions, I’m a single mom and wondering the details bc of the reaponsibility that goes with that. I was also considering retouching since I remember being good at it back in the day, so if anyone has the same advice for that too would be great! Thanks so much!!

Most graphic design jobs these days expect you to know web. Take as many courses as you can to learn about web design. If you are great at branding and print design, you might be able to get by without learning much web coding. But you at least need to know web design and have access to someone who can do the web programing for you. At minimum, you’ll be expected to make graphics for the web here and there.

Knowing web coding can only help. The basics are HTML5 and CSS. Content Management Systems are good to know too. I’m almost in the same boat as you, so I’m taking courses on Responsive Web Design and back-end coding in addition to what I mentioned above. The difference is I’ve been freelancing here and there and keeping track of the major changes in the industry as they’ve risen.