Self-activity without experience?

Hello everyone. I am a newbie and I have got few questions, but I want to start with a little preview.
I am graphic designer specialized on other things such as brand identity, logo design, brochure design, landing/small business website design. My skills are proper, not a high-top, but good.
My idea is to open own web-studio site with a portfolio and try to find clients online. My english is not perfect by the way. So, what do you think, is it possible to earn money on self-activity online like this? I dont have a network or friends online (only offline, but its very few).
What do you think about upwork? What is better in my case? Self-activity with own web-studio or upwork? Which way is better for the beginner (not in skills, but in online experience on finding clients)?

Thanks

By self-activity are you referring to freelance work?

If so, freelancing really is a business, and running a business requires all the skills and time needed to run that business, like bookkeeping, taxes, promotion and finding clients.

That last thing — finding clients — is the hard one. They don’t just automatically show up. You need a way to bring them in — either through already-existing contacts, referrals or through some innovative kind of marketing. If you don’t have a workable plan for getting clients, the chances of succeeding are very small.

I don’t know too many freelancers who were able to make it without, first, working in an agency or studio or in-house situation where they could learn the ropes, make the contacts, learn the business and establish some credibility for themselves.

If you are a newbie, like you said, I’d recommend getting a job working with some experienced people before trying it on your own.

1 Like

Thanks for your helpful answer!

Yes, the marketing part - is the hard one. I have designer skills, but I am not sure about my sales abilities.