Self Taught and Employed as "The Media Department"

Hello All,

First post. I’ve been put in the position of handling all media creation and production for a business with a few hundred employees. I’m mostly self taught and do most of my work using various apps on my phone. I’ve paid for subscriptions for stock media and apps, so everything I make is licensed.

With all of that said, I could use a little education. I understand the difference between raster and vector files and their applications. My question is about file conversation. If I design something using a PNG format, is there an easy way to convert it to a full color vector? Can I simply convert to a PDF and then I’m good to go for scaling?

Thanks in advance.

No. For scaling best to create in vector.
And create pngs and other formats from the vectors.

If you’re creating raster images create in large high quality 600 or even 1200 PPI so scaling is not much of an issue.

This is a common misconception, by the way.

PDF is just a wrapper - it can contain a mix of elements, including a mix of vector and raster.

Vectors are infinitely scalable - but have to be created as vector elements.
https://www.adobe.com/creativecloud/file-types/image/comparison/raster-vs-vector.html

Just saving to a different file format doesn’t change the content of that file or how it’s made up.

So for example, you cannot take a Photograph and save it as a .ai or .pdf file and expect to scale it.

The photo would need to be made up of vector elements, which is ridiculous and be a massive file.

A photo is much better as a TIFF or PSD format.
You can save it as a PDF too. So here’s the kicker.

YOU CAN save your Photo in Illustrator as a .ai or a .pdf file.
Or save your file from photoshop as a PDF.

But that PDF is only a wrapper - it contains the Pixel information. And resolution will decrease as the image increases in size - and also the image gains resolution as it decreases in size.