Senior Designer taking over my project

I don’t think any designer is immune to this problem, but it still really gets me any time it happens. I have 20 years design experience myself, so I consider myself to be a Senior, but there is a more Senior designer who works with me.

I like some elements of his design, but many of them I don’t. I guess my ego has taken a kick. I accept clients will request changes, but when a more Senior designer takes over my project, it basically comes across to me that my initial version was not good enough and it hurts.

How do other designers deal with set-backs like this? Thanks

1 Like

Try not to take it personally. It may be nothing to do with your design. A discussion with the more senior designer might smooth things over. He might even appreciate your help with getting his head around it. This should help you to understand why you were taken off the project, and with this information you can do better next time.

Having said that, clients are idiots and they want what they want. It’s our job to give it to them, nothing more. I leave my ego out of it and I am never hurt by a client’s bizarre decisions.

2 Likes

I don’t take it personally. I’d look at is as “Good, one less thing I have to do.”
[Shrug]
But I’ve been told, recently, that I have a very strange world view…

3 Likes

Let’s say you sell Toyota cars, you’re working with someone showing them a Corolla, and they end up going to the Honda dealer and buy a Civic. Sure, you lost a sale, but it’s not personal. Maybe the customer just liked the Civic better than the Corolla.

With design, it’s something you created. So it’s a little hard to not take it personally if someone essentially says, “thanks but no thanks.” We’ve all been there at one point or another, and it stings a bit.