Senior Designer vs. Creative Director

I’m an in-house graphic designer who recently received a job offer from a different company. I’m happy with my current place of employment, so I brought the offer I received to my marketing director to see if she could match it. She and our CEO agreed to match it, as well as offer me a new job title of my choosing, as long as it doesn’t have manager in the title.

I am the only designer in our company of 120 employees (health insurance) and handle every project from conception to completion. I’ve worked here for 5 years and have been in the design industry for 12 years. We have a total of 4 employees in our dept. who I work laterally with.

Current title:
Marketing Coordinator: Graphic Designer

To me, the logical title would be senior designer, but I’ve had a few designer friends say creative director. I don’t want my title to be misleading to future employers.

Thoughts? If you need more information from me, just ask!

Thank you, Jason.

1 Like

I lifted this one from Wiki:
Brand Identity Developer

Job titles are very fluid and what they mean in terms of responsibilities varies from one place to the next.

Creative director sort of implies, though, that you’re in a top-tier management level position and directing the creative endeavors of the company. Is that what you will be doing? Will you have the ability to override this marketing director on creative disagreements? If your marketing director says, we need a brochure that says this and who needs to approve your work before it’s good to go, you’re not really directing the creative — he or she is.

2 Likes

I agree.

I was in an almost identical situation as you just several months ago.

The title I went with was “Creative Lead”. It may not be the most well-known title, but I feel it perfectly sums up my role and experience at the company.

Good luck and let us know what you end up going with!

1 Like

Also agree here that “Director” implies management.