Short Survey on Gender in Type

I am a RISD graduate student researching how we perceive gender in fonts.

I’m hoping you all can help me by completing a survey. You just have to decide if 20 fonts are ‘Masculine’ or ‘Feminine.’ Easy and short!

forms.gle/ehFnmxvNqHdnyicq6

The goal is to aggregate impressions. I will credit anyone that includes their name in the form, and I will share the completed work with anyone that includes contact information.

Currently, I imagine this survey will lead to a variety of outputs: a variable font that transitions between masculine and feminine features; a collection of discussions with type designers about gender; an audit of how fonts are used in gendered contexts. The final work might be something like Painting by Numbers by Komar and Melamid (although, you know, less scientific, because I’m just one person without a budget).

Thank you all so much! I really appreciate your help!

Sorry, won’t let me hyperlink because I’m a new user. Hopefully copy & paste will work

Type design is all about context. A typeface I might consider to be feminine, like a cursive script font perhaps, can also mean elegance if used in a masculine men’s cologne or wrist watch advertisement. The sell is the surrounding design and imagery.
Gender is a sliding scale. So is typography. I can see where you might be going in a variable font, but with that you would be designing two fairly distinct types and the blur between the two could present unintended looks unless you are very very careful, or introduce a third intermediate variable - kinda like with a bad gradient color combination. There is no forcing a typeface into one particular gender container or another (with the exception of custom illustrative display fonts, maybe.)
When I get a chance I’ll look at your survey, just out of curiosity.