Social media

Hey there! I have had a dilemma in mind about this topic for quite sometime now and so I decided to post this here for some insights. Last year, I made a decision and I deleted my Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook accounts. I was sick of it. I felt like I was getting sucked into this technology black hole. I felt like I was doing things, designing things and living only to post it online. I only maintain a Twitter account now.
The dilemma is about whether I should get back or not, keeping in mind that I am a design student and I should probably put my work out into the world. Everyone seems to be putting themselves out there. Does it really work? Will it take me a step closer to success? How did people become successful designers before the boom of social media?
Any sort of insights or thoughts would really help!

Thank you!

1 Like

By doing good work, networking, word of mouth, etc. That’s typically true today, as well.

Today, strategically using social media for these things can help, but it really does need to be part of a bigger strategy. Just putting things on Instagram, Facebook or whatever isn’t, by itself, a strategy.

2 Likes

That makes sense! Thank you

I completely understand your gripe with social media. I can’t stand it anymore myself.

However, consider making a business facebook page, keep it professional, and you shouldn’t encounter to much drama, and/or pictures of people’s lunches and cats.

1 Like

I deleted my Facebook account. It felt good.

2 Likes

Looking at social media statistics, comments, “likes” can become something of an obsession. I think it’s good to be on all social networks and I recommend it. When you decide you want to start getting work, you will have created a following which may want to hire / commission you for work.

Here’s some rules you may want to use.

Post as often as you like.
Post with a good description, keywords and hashtags
DON’T check Stats/comments until the after your next post.

-Line

1 Like