Some questions on 2D artwork and compositing

Hi
I hope this is a suitable forum for these questions.
I would like to create some ambient scenes and upload them to YouTube. I am new to this so have some novice questions that would be great if you could answer.

An example of what I would like to create is an image of a mountain-range background with trees and a log cabin in the foreground, along with a river and camp fire.
I would then like to add some composition to the image with the camp fire flickering and the river shimmering. I would like to add some background wind noise to add to the ambience mood.

This is completely new to me and so all will be a learning curve. Before I set off and learn these tools and techniques, I would like to make sure I am learning the most suitable tools.

Having read some into what I need, I believe I only need to focus on these tools:

1. A photo-editing software to layer the multiple images. I foresee having a mountain-range image, then to bring in another image of trees, and then river image, then the log cabin, and finally the top layer will be a camp fire. So here we have multiple images layered to create a desired scene.
  2. A composition software to import the completed scene and then to add a shimmering effect on the river and a flickering effect on the camp fire.

I’m unsure on which is the most suitable software. The images I’ll use may be photos I’ve taken with my phone camera or 2D/3D assets that free to download and use. I’ve read that Adobe Photoshop and After Effects will do the job just fine but… the subscription fee is off-putting. Shame as I am understand all Adobe software work well with each other. Also, I would prefer to use ‘Layer’ based software rather than ‘Node’ based software - which I understand Abode is all Layer based.
Also, I am using this software as a hobbyist and therefore do not need to ensure other professionals can use my creation - I just to be able to upload it to YouTube.

Questions: