Sooo I'm taking graphic design college classes for fun----

Hello everyone! I’ve finally decided to sign up to the new forum.

Anyways. Here’s a funny little thing that happened.

So my job doesn’t have me designing much anymore. I mostly take meetings and come up with general ideas and give the work to one of the graphic designers we have. I do some freelance work, but it’s mostly programming and web development.

Since I’m not good at relaxing and like to stay busy at all times, I decided to sign up for a college Graphic design course just for kicks (I got my graphic design degree back in 2008). It’s one of the capstone courses meant to prepare designers for the ~real world~ by challenging them to find clients and do work for them.

In fact, I find the class incredibly unstructured. One assignment was literally “contact the director of a local non-profit organization and design a brochure for them”. Then we were supposed to give the NPO a printable copy of the print-ready brochure, then submit the assignment to the professor after it’s all said and done. I get what they’re doing in pushing kids to step outside of their comfort zone. But at that point, you’re basically freelancing for a grade rather than money.

So. I didn’t tell the professor that I’ve been working as a designer for 10+ years now. The program was one that I started a long time ago, but took a different course (you choose between portfolio/job prep, an internship and on other).