Strategies/Advice for Thoroughly Understanding Target Audience

Hi! I’ve been a designer for around 12 years so my technical ability is reasonable but I’m looking for a bit of advice/mentorship on the business/strategy/communication side. I recently started a new role as the only in-house graphic designer with a large automotive company. It’s a great company but has limited experience working with designers/marketing types which results in a large knowledge gap between departments that I want to bridge. One of the recurring pieces of feedback I receive when I present work to senior team members is that it is too intelligent for our customers who are simpler people, even when I have made designs as simple as I believe possible. When I push for specifics on what elements of the design they are referring to or how I can rectify it, they are unable to articulate their reasoning and it leaves me uncertain of how to continue with the project. Brand guides are virtually non-existent and offer very little assistance.