Struggle of finding inspiration

Is it normal to struggle to find inspiration for each design project you’re assigned to?

I’m fairly new at graphic design, but I have decent knowledge about its principle and I have completed some design projects whose results I’m really proud of. However, each project was hardly without me stressing over finding the right design beforehand. This really wears me down.
Is this normal? or am I lacking something?

Thanks.

Inspiration can come from anywhere. Try not to look for inspiration too close to home. If you’re working on a new logo, don’t look at logos. Look at related things that aren’t logos that fit the target aesthetic/audience.

Stop thinking about finding a design before you start. I don’t identify an inspiration before I start. It’s all part of the research and brainstorming process. Create work until you get there.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer, Buda. I really appreciate it. :relaxed:
From the way you put it, I take it that each piece of work is mostly about trial and error in the process, having to go through this all the time surely is rather frustrating, moreover if it takes a lot of time.

Is this how design normally works?

I enjoy the concept/creating process and I would say that much of creativity is trial and error. As you become more experienced, you avoid starting any concept you know won’t work, but at the start of a project, I create lots of drafts/concepts. Then I narrow it down before fleshing out concepts to show the client. The concepts I show a client may range from their exact brief, to my preferred interpretation of the brief and others in-between. Sometimes the client’s wishes and final concept are quite different.