Student Magazine Design Critique

Hello! I am a student in a graphic design class and am working on a magazine design which requires outside critique: I would appreciate anyone’s feedback. The article I chose is posted on the Yes! Magazine website under its creative commons license, and the photos are stock images from Adobe. My audience is young adult men and women, aged 20-30, living on a moderate to high income who like playing games and are sensitive to social issues.

Page 1.jpg
Page 2.jpg

High school or college? If that latter, are you a design major? A little context will help.

I moved this post to the student section. I think you’ll get better feedback here.

I’m a college student, and am taking this Print Publishing class for elective credit: my actual major is in English.

It wasn’t immediately apparent to me that we’re looking at two separate spreads here rather than one big page. Perhaps it’s only me who saw it that way, but just in case others do to, I thought I’d mention it.

The gutters between your columns of type are awfully small. Consequently, everything seems tight and cramped. Open it up a bit and let some air into the layout.

It would help to make the pages a bit more dynamic in ways that involve a more lively interplay between the graphic elements. A grid provides a framework for a magazine layout, but it’s the selective breaking free from that grid that adds life to the pages. For example bleeding the small photos to the edges of the pages, or making more elaborate and visually grabbing pull-out quotes could help you do this. Make the layout fun and a bit less conservative and cautious.

Your main headline, with small caps, seems a bit stodgy for a layout about games. Bigger and more visually playful might help.